Prospective Families! Learn more about St. Laurence.


The St. Laurence baseball program works to instill a love and passion for the game within all players, so that their efforts will earn them a skill level and knowledge of the game that is unsurpassed by any other program. The program is committed to the full development of every student-athlete academically, spiritually, and athletically. To accomplish this, Viking players are required to adhere to a demanding in-season schedule, while maintaining high academic and athletic standings at STL and within the community. St. Laurence baseball players continually strive toward their individual potential by committing to personal and team goals and recognizing that learning is a lifelong process.


Coach Pete Lotus enters his 16th season as the Vikings’ head coach with an impressive 341–103 record. During his tenure, St. Laurence has became one of Illinois’ elite programs, consistently ranking in the state’s top 10. The Vikings have captured eight Chicago Catholic League Championships and 13 IHSA Regional Championships in Lotus’ 15 seasons, including 11 in a row. During the 2019 season, the Vikings were crowned IHSA Regional, Sectional, and Super Sectional Champions and finished as a state runner-up 2nd place finish, the highest in program history. Matt McCormick became the first player in St. Laurence baseball history to be named a 1st team All-American in consecutive years.  He was also named Illinois Player of the Year in back to back years.  In 2018, Matt became the school’s first ever Gatorade Player of the Year. In 2017, the Vikings finished with a school record 36 wins and captured their second consecutive Sectional Championship. The 2017 Vikings captured the school’s first ever Super-Sectional Championship en route to the Class 4A 3rd Place Finish. The historic season broke many school records and featured a seasoned class that won 67 games in their two Varsity seasons. The Vikings had two All-State Selections in Senior Angel Sandoval and Sophomore Matt McCormick. Lotus has sent 112 players on to college programs, including 43 at the Division I level. Lotus’ teams have averaged 30 wins per season and have produced 78 first or second team All-Area players and 18 All-State players. In 2013, the program produced two Louisville Slugger All-Americans. The 2014 team won 32 games, captured the prestigious Chicago Catholic League Blue Division championship and the school’s 12th IHSA Regional title and produced two All-State players. Senior Mike Kornacker was also selected as the CCL Player of the Year. Coach Lotus was recognized as the 2014 High School Coach of the Year.
In Coach Lotus’ first season, the Vikings won their first League and Regional Championships in 13 years. For his efforts, Lotus was awarded the Anthony Lawless Award for Most Outstanding Coach in the Chicago Catholic League. Lotus was also heralded as the Daily Reporter’s High School Coach of the Year. Lotus won his second Lawless Award in 2008 after the Vikings went a combined 13-1 in CCL play. He garnered back-to-back Lawless Awards by being named Coach of the Year again the next year, then went on win an unprecedented fourth Lawless Coach of the Year Award in 2011, after guiding the Vikings to the Blue Division championship.

This past February, Coach Lotus was named the 2020 National Federation of High School Baseball (NFHS) Coach of the Year.

A 1994 graduate of St. Laurence, Lotus played at the University of Illinois-Chicago where he was a 4-year starter and 1st-Team All-Conference performer. He returned to St. Laurence in 2003 and serves as the Director of Coaching and Training, teaching Anatomy and Physiology. In 2008, Lotus was recognized as the Blessed Edmund Rice Distinguished Teacher of the Year. Lotus was inducted into the St. Laurence Athletic Hall of Fame in November 2007.

BASEBALL: CONTACT COACH LOTUS | Phone 708-458-6900 ext. 245 | Email


  • 15-time Chicago Catholic League Champions (7 in the last 11 years)
  • 13-time IHSA Regional Champions (9 in the last 11 years)
  • 2-time State Qualifiers
  • 68 Intercollegiate Athletes, 52 1st or 2nd Team All-Area Athletes, 12 All-State Athletes and 2 All-Americans in the past 11 years


  • 72 NHS Members, 52 Student Council Officers, 7 Student Council Presidents, and 5 Valedictorians in the past 11 years.


  • 2013 Grads: Kyle Estand, St. Joseph; Zach Lewis, Wichita State; Ryan Rybakowski, Aurora University
  • 2014 Grads: Rob Gutierrez, Chicago St. University; Alex Hitney, Harper Community College; Mike Kornacker, Purdue University; T.J. Marik, Northern Kentucky University; Nate Tholl, Webster University; Kevin White, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater; Roger Wilson, Blackhawk College; Brad Wood, Northern Illinois University
  • 2015 Grads: Sean Burnette, Blackhawk College; Anthony Chimera, St. Xavier University; Zach Erdman, Blackhawk College; Mike Finger, Wisconsin Oshkosh; Frank Greco, Benedictine University; Mike Munoz, Loras College; John Riordan, University of St. Francis; Jake Tholl, College of DuPage; Nick Verta, College of DuPage
  • 2016 Grads: Jack Cavanaugh, University of Evansville; Jake Diaz, College of DuPage; Dan Heiden, Aurora University; Anthony Rios, Lewis University; Anthony Robles, College of DuPage