Posted on December 15, 2016 · Posted in Academic News, Blog, General, News, Press Release

BURBANK, IL –Principal James Muting ‘73 and President Joseph Martinez ‘99 are pleased to announce that 10 St. Laurence students from the graduating class of 2017 have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars.

Brett Bittner (Michael M. Byrne, Garfield Ridge), Shawn Donohue (Conrady, Hickory Hills), Christian Ferrer (St. Daniel the Prophet, Garfield Ridge), Erik Kazmierowicz (St. Mary, Riverside), Daniel Kogut (St. Daniel the Prophet, Garfield Ridge), Brian Lyle (Southwest Christian, Oak Lawn), Dennis McCarthy (St. Michael, Orland Park), Omari Thurston (Lindblom Math and Science Academy, Englewood), Joseph Vascik (St. Daniel the Prophet, Garfield Ridge) and Jose Zepeda (Wilkins, Justice) were all recognized for their efforts in the classroom.

The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the state agency committed to helping make college accessible and affordable for Illinois families, confers this prestigious recognition annually to top Illinois high school students. This year, approximately 19,300 exceptional honorees join the other top state students honored for their academic achievements since the designation was first introduced in 1958.

Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors from 765 high schools across the state. Illinois State Scholars possess strong academic potential and are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank.

“I applaud all of the 2017-18 state scholars for their hard work and outstanding academic performance,” said Eric Zarnikow, ISAC executive director. “Students have a lot to contend with as they move through high school—from increased testing to extracurricular activities to highly competitive college admissions. Kudos to these students and also to the teachers, parents, coaches and other mentors who contributed to their success and helped them navigate a path towards college and career success.”

While State Scholar recognition does not include a monetary prize, students receive congratulatory letters from ISAC as well as personalized Certificates of Achievement sent to each high school for distribution. A list of current Illinois State Scholars can also be found on ISAC’s website.