Posted on May 2, 2014 · Posted in Blog

Vike-Link September 2014

 

From the Office of the Principal,

Parents,

Welcome Back!!   I want to thank all the parents who attended the class orientations in August. Your presence speaks volumes of your commitment to STL and your son’s education. I hope the meetings were informative.

We had over 450 parents, students and family members at the freshmen orientation, mass and BBQ. Special thanks to the Fathers’ Club, who did a great job with the BBQ.

As I mention in every Vike-Link, GET INVOLVED in your son’s education. GET INVOLVED with the Mothers’ and Fathers’ Clubs. GET INVOLVED in school sponsored events. Be a presence at STL. Students whose parents are involved do much better in school academically, spiritually and emotionally.

Make sure your son is GETTING INVOLVED. The four years of high school go by quickly. Do not let him be an 8:00-2:33 student. STL has so much to offer him outside the school day. Make sure he is a well-rounded student who GETS INVOLVED!

“Back to School Night” is Thursday, September 4, 2014, beginning at 7:00 PM in the gym. This is another opportunity to GET INVOLVED in your son’s education. This is the opportunity to get to meet your son’s teachers and go through his class schedule. Your son will be giving you a copy of his schedule on the 4th for you to follow. If you have any questions, contact STL.

Freshmen Moms: The Mothers’ Club Freshmen Mom’s Tea is Sunday, September 7 at 12:00 PM in the library. If you are a freshmen mom, grandmother, aunt, sister or female guardian, you should attend this tea. You will get to know others sharing the same experiences as you. GET INVOLVED! For more information, contact Mrs. Kathy Hynes at ext 215.

Father-Son Communion Breakfast: The Father-Son Communion Breakfast is Sunday, September 28 at 9:30 AM at STL. The cost is $10 a person. Mass is at 9:30. Breakfast is at 10:30. Father, grandfather, brother, uncle or male guardian and son are welcome. What better way to be with your son and meet his friends than at a mass followed by an awesome breakfast. GET INVOLVED! If you have questions, call me at ext 212.

The last week of September is homecoming week. The homecoming dance is October 4. We need parents to pour pop and fill snack bowls at the dance. Let me know if you are available. GET INVOLVED!

We started our Team of Teams program on Wednesday, August 27. Ask your son what he thinks about the program.

Vike-Hike is coming on October 1. Information will be sent home. Please make sure you get involved in this school event. This year we will be walking on the track with various Team of Teams activities going on. For further information, contact Mr. Shaw at ext. 232.

The Fathers’ Club annual Car Show is Sunday, September 14 from 9:00-3:00 at STL. For further information, contact Mr. Muting at ext 212.

There will be a Mothers’ Club bake sale on September 4 during the lunch periods. There will be a Fathers’ Club meeting at 7:00 PM on September 9. Mothers’ Club, Fathers’ Club, and Laurenta Club are hosting their annual Chili Cook-off on Thursday, October 16. For more information, check the website.

Laurenta Club Updates:

Our first General Meeting is on September 10th at 7:30 in the Leadership Center.
Our first fundraiser has started!  We will be selling Football Mania tickets for $20 a piece.  The cards will start in October.  Please contact Sandy Janeteas at 773.457.5406.
The Laurenta Club is now running the Market Day Program at St. Laurence.  The next order is due in by Wednesday, September 24th.
The Craft Fair will be on October 25th from 9:00AM to 3:00PM.  We are still looking for crafters and volunteers to work the day of the event.  Please contact Sandy Janeteas at 773.457.5406.
Keep checking back for updates on Laurenta happenings!  We look forward to seeing you all soon!!

School calendar at a glance—Important dates—check the full calendar on website.

2014-2015  calendar:

Monday, August 12-13                      Book Sales

Friday, August 15                               New teacher meeting

Monday, August 18                            Faculty In-service

Tuesday, August 19                            Freshmen First Day

Wednesday, August 20                     Upperclass first day

Monday, September 1                        Labor Day—No classes

Thursday, September 4                     Back to School Night/athletic meeting

Sunday, September 7                          New Moms’ Tea

Thursday, September 18                  Mothers’ Club Vendor Night

Monday, Sept. 29-Sat. Oct. 4           Homecoming Week

Wednesday, October 1                       Vike-Hike

Thursday, October 16                         Chili Cook-Off

Wednesday, October 15                     Testing day

Thursday, October 30                        PT conferences—Noon dismissal

Friday, October 31                               No classes

Thursday, November 6                       Open House

Wednesday-Friday, Nov. 26-28       Thanksgiving Break

Sunday, December 7                            Open House

Wednesday-Friday–Dec. 17-19         Semester Finals                                   

Friday, December 19                             Christmas break begins after last test

Monday-Sunday, Dec.22-Jan 4          Christmas Break

Monday, January 5                                 In –service—no classes

Monday, January 19                               No classes

Monday, January 26-30                        Leadership Week

 Monday, February 2                              No classes

Tuesday, February 3-6                          Vocation Week

Monday, February 16                             No classes

Thursday, March 19                                PT conferences—4:00-7:00

Friday March 20                                       No classes-In-service

Friday, April 3-Sunday April 12          Easter Break—No classes

Monday, May 11-13                                     Senior Finals           

Sunday, May 17                                          Baccaluareate Mass

Monday, May 18                                        Graduation           

Monday, May 25                                        Memorial Day—No classes

May 28-June1                                            Final Exams

Tuesday, June 2                                        Faculty—In-service

 Wednesday, June 3                                 Faculty Day

June 2-5  will be used for emergency closing days